AEW News

Will Ospreay Set For AEW Singles Debut

Will Ospreay

New Japan star Will Ospreay is set to make his AEW singles debut on Dynamite after appearing for the first time last week.

Tony Khan has revealed that Will Ospreay will compete in singles action in an AEW ring for the very first time on June 15th. At Dynamite Road Rager, Ospreay will take on Dax Harwood.

On the June 8th, Ospreay made a shock debut on the show, interrupting FTR and Trent who were discussing being attacked by Great-O-Khan and Jeff Cobb of the United Empire the previous week. After Ospreay’s name was dropped in the promo he appeared on the ramp, this allowed Aussie Open to run in and attack the three men in the ring.

On June 10th the Rampage, Ospreay teamed with Aussie Open in a losing effort to FTR and Trent. Following that appearance, the British star jetted back to Japan to compete at NJPW Dominion, where he claimed the IWGP United States Heavyweight Championship.

Elsewhere on the show, Jurassic Express will defend their AEW World Tag Team Titles in a Ladder Match against the Young Bucks. It had originally been announced that the match would also feature The Hardys. However, following Jeff’s recent arrest, they were removed from all advertising regarding the match.

On June 14th it was confirmed by AEW that Jeff Hardy would be suspended without pay, and offered help and support and he begins treatment for substance abuse issues.

After this news was made official, the Ladder Match was added back onto the card, minus the former WWE stars.

You can find the full card below.

  • AEW World Tag Team Championships – Ladder Match: Jurassic Express vs. The Young Bucks
  • Will Ospreay vs. Dax Harwood
  • Toni Storm vs. Britt Baker
  • Miro vs. Ethan Page (AEW All-Atlantic Championship Qualifying Match)
  • Chris Jericho vs. Ortiz (Hair vs. Hair)
  • Wardlow vs. The Plaintiffs (20-on-1 Handicap Elimination Match)