WWE News

R-Truth To Host WWE Slammy Awards 2020

R-Truth with the 24/7 Championship

R-Truth has been announced as the host of the WWE Slammy Awards 2020, set to take place this Wednesday.

The Slammy Awards were first introduced in 1986. The award show recognises the efforts of WWE Superstars throughout the year, with several categories, including Superstar of the Year, Match of the Year and Rivalry of The Year.

The 2020 Slammy Awards will be hosted by R-Truth, a former Slammy recipient. Truth won ‘Best Musical Performance’ in 2008 and ‘LOL moment of the year’ in 2015, for his blunder surrounding Money In The Bank that year.

This years awards show marks the first time WWE have presented a Slammy Awards since 2015. The company promoted the event on their website, announcing the show will take place at 10am on December 23rd:

“It’s SLAMMY season!

WWE’s biggest award show makes its triumphant return when The 2020 SLAMMY Awards: The Best of Raw and SmackDown stream live on WWE Network and WWE’s digital and social platforms on Wednesday, December 23 at 10 AM ET.

But what’s an award show without a list of categories and nominees? The SLAMMY Awards being given out this year will be:

•Superstar of the Year

•Match of the Year

•Rivalry of the Year

•Tag Team of the Year

•Return of the Year

•Ring Gear of the Year

•Breakout Star of the Year

•Female Superstar of the Year

•Male Superstar of the Year

•Moment of the Year

The best part of it all? You, the WWE Universe, will be voting to decide the winners of the first five awards listed above! Voting is now open, so be sure to make your voice heard for your favorite WWE Superstars and matches of 2020.”

Junkyard Dog won the first ever ‘Best Performer’ award at the 1986 Slammy Awards. It was most recently won by Seth Rollins and Nikki Bella in 2015. Perhaps the most memorable Slammy Award would be the 1997 ‘Best Bow Tie’ award, presented by Owen Hart. Hart would steal the award and even bring it to the ring in the following weeks.

See the full list of Slammy Award nominations and vote via WWE.com