New TNT Champion Crowned On Dynamite

AEW TNT Championship

The main-event of the March 8th edition of AEW Dynamite saw a chaotic brawl end with surprise interference, betrayal, and a new champion being crowned.

Having resolved his personal feud with Samoa Joe, Wardlow vowed to move forward with his first defense of the TNT Championship in the main-event of Dynamite. But this wasn’t just a normal title defense; it was a Falls Count Anywhere match. And with that stipulation at play, the violence began before both wrestlers entered the ring.

As entrance music played, no one could be seen coming down the ramp so the cameras panned to backstage area, where Wardlow and Hobbs were already fighting. The two of them brawled all over the arena until they found themselves on the entrance stage near the commentary table,

It was at that point that the surprise came as QT Marshall made his first appearance on Dynamite in a very long time. But as if his appearance wasn’t shocking enough, his actions were even more so as he attacked Wardlow and helped Powerhouse Hobbs win the title.

QT Marshall helps Powerhouse Hobbs win AEW TNT Title

Then the two men hit a double tossing powerbomb off the entrance stage onto a platform below. Then the referee made a ten-count and Wardlow was counted out. With this decision, the match was ruled in Hobbs’ favor and he was crowned the new AEW TNT Champion.

With this win, Will “Powerhouse Hobbs” becomes the ninth different person to win that title. He earned a shot at this title after winning the Face of the Revolution Ladder match on last week’s episode of Dynamite.

Since Wardlow was already booked in a match for that title belt at Revolution, Hobbs had to wait until after Revolution to get his title shot.