WWE News

Mike Chioda On ‘Accidental’ Title Change & Vince McMahon’s Reaction

R-Truth US Champion

Accidents can happen in the wrestling ring and former WWE referee Mike Chioda has discussed one occurring when the United States Title accidentally changed hands and details Vince McMahon’s reaction to it.

WWE referees are apparently told to call what they see and see what they call. So, if a WWE Superstar doesn’t get their shoulder off the mat before the three-count lands then despite what may have been planned, they’ll find themselves on the wrong end of a defeat.

Exactly that scenario occurred when veteran referee Mike Chioda took charge of a United States Title match between Shinsuke Nakamura and R-Truth on SmackDown in 2019. Nakamura had held the title for two days after winning it from Rusev at the 2019 Royal Rumble.

Speaking to James Romero of Wrestling Shoot Interviews, Chioda explained how R-Truth ended up becoming United States Champion entirely by accident.

Chioda stated:

“Vince loved it. R-Truth tells me the wrong f***ing finish. ‘You said you were only getting schoolboyed once!’ And he was like, ‘Oh, my bad, dawg, I’m sorry, man.’ He had the US title or something, 24-hour title… US title, I think. So it was kind of funny. I thought I was gonna get a bunch of heat coming back and Vince was like, ‘That was phenomenal, I loved it!’ I’m like, ‘What? Okay, great.’”

Thankfully for all concerned Vince McMahon saw the funny side. Although Truth did have to defend the title immediately after winning it although he managed to escape that match with Rusev with a victory as well. Truth lost the title just thirty-five days after he won it for the second time in his WWE career, losing a Fatal Four-Way match won by Samoa Joe.

Mike Chioda also recalled during the conversation the time WWE was on tour in the UK and their group of WWE Superstars ended up brawling with a group of legitimate kickboxers.

Credit: Wrestling Shoot Interviews

h/t Sportskeeda Wrestling for the transcription