AEW News

Lance Archer Crowned IWGP United States Heavyweight Champion

Lance Archer

Lance Archer has defeated Jon Moxley to reclaim the IWGP United States Heavyweight Championship.

Moxley initially defended the title on night one of AEW Fyter Fest on July 14th against “Machine Gun” Karl Anderson. However, after picking up the victory, Moxley was immediately challenged by Archer to a match the following week. Except the title bout wouldn’t be just any match, it would be a Texas Death Match. A call back to when Moxley defeated Archer for the title in Tokyo, Japan on January 4th 2020.

Lance Archer said that he had never received his rematch for the title, so decided to go to Moxley directly and lay down the challenge.

Predictably the match wasn’t for the faint of heart. Both men threw everything at each other seemingly willing to do whatever it took it earn the victory. In the early going Moxley drilled Archer on the outside with a Paradigm Shift before producing a fork and stabbing his adversary in the head.

As the match continued the Murderhawk Monster fought back, rebounding from a German Suplex to deliver a big boot, setting up two chairs in the ring ready for a Blackout with a painful twist. Moxley responded with a low-blow before being Chokeslammed onto the backs of the two chairs.

The match came to a brutal conclusion as Moxley pulled out two barbed wire boards, placing them on two tables. As the champion went to get back in the ring, Archer stabbed him repeatedly with the fork before hitting a devastating Chokeslam onto the barbed wire. This left Moxley unable to answer a ten-count, leaving Archer as the winner.

The new champion wasn’t left much time to celebrate as he was immediately confronted by Bullet Club member HIkuleo. The two will meet for the championship at AEW Fight For The Fallen on July 28th.

During his time as champion, Jon Moxley became the longest reigning champion in the title’s history, racking up a record number of defences.

Archer’s victory was the first time that a NJPW Championship had changed hands outside of a NJPW ring in eight years. On that occasion La Sombra (Andrade El Idolo) defeated Shinsuke Nakamura in CMLL to win the Intercontinental Title on May 31st 2013.

You can read the full card for Fight For The Fallen below.

  • No disqualification: Chris Jericho vs. Nick Gage
  • FTR vs. Santana & Ortiz
  • Christian Cage & Jurassic Express vs. Private Party & AngĂ©lico
  • IWGP US Heavyweight Championship: Winner of Moxley/Archer (c) vs. Hikuleo
  • Elimination tag: The Elite (Kenny Omega, Young Bucks, & Good Brothers) vs. Hangman Page & Dark Order (Evil Uno, Stu Grayson, John Silver, & Alex Reynolds)
  • Tony Khan will announce a major new live event