WWE News

Kofi Kingston Tops WWE’s List For The Decade’s Best WWE Title Change

Kofi Kingston Replaces The Miz

WWE has named what it considers the greatest WWE Title change of the last decade, giving the honour to Kofi Kingston for his incredible WWE Championship win at WrestleMania 35 against Daniel Bryan.

Kingston had been competing in WWE for 11 years at the time of WrestleMania 35 in 2019. During this time Kingston had only had a handful of opportunities to get anywhere near the WWE Championship. That changed at the Elimination Chamber in February 2019. Kingston was a replacement in the WWE Title match for the injured Mustafa Ali. Although Daniel Bryan retained in that match the groundswell of support for Kingston from the WWE Universe was undeniable. Much like it had been five years previous for Bryan himself.

After jumping through every hoop laid in front of him by Vince McMahon, Kingston eventually proved himself worthy of a title match at WrestleMania. In a hugely emotional victory, Kingston celebrated with a new WWE Championship belt alongside his New Day partners Big E and Xavier Woods, and both his sons.

The match was one of three world championship matches on the card at WrestleMania 35. Seth Rollins opened the show by winning the WWE Universal Championship from Brock Lesnar. The main event of the night saw Becky Lynch become ‘Becky Two Belts’ as she won both the Raw and SmackDown Women’s Championships.

Seth Rollins himself features as second on the list for his WWE Championship win at WrestleMania 31. Rollins sensationally cashed in his Money In The Bank contract during the main event between Brock Lesnar and Roman Reigns. Number three on WWE’s list is Bryan’s underdog win against both Randy Orton and Batista at WrestleMania 30. Following that win is John Cena defeating AJ Styles at the 2017 Royal Rumble. Rounding out the top five is then The Rock’s victory over CM Punk at the 2013 Royal Rumble.

The Full List Of 20 Are Shown Below

  1. Kofi Kingston – WrestleMania 35
  2. Seth Rollins – WrestleMania 31
  3. Daniel Bryan – WrestleMania 30
  4. John Cena – Royal Rumble 2017
  5. The Rock – Royal Rumble 2013
  6. Jinder Mahal – Backlash 2017
  7. Triple H – Royal Rumble 2016
  8. Brock Lesnar – SmackDown 2019
  9. Sheamus – Survivor Series 2015
  10. Drew McIntyre – Raw 2020
  11. CM Punk – Money In The Bank 2011
  12. Roman Reigns – Survivor Series 2015
  13. Bobby Lashley – Raw 2021
  14. AJ Styles – SmackDown 2017
  15. Randy Orton – Hell In A Cell 2020
  16. Daniel Bryan – SmackDown 2018
  17. Drew McIntyre – WrestleMania 36
  18. Rey Mysterio – Raw 2011
  19. Bray Wyatt – Elimination Chamber 2017
  20. Brock Lesnar vs. John Cena – SummerSlam 2014