Jon Moxley’s First Contender Determined At Royal Rampage [SPOILER]

Jon Moxley AEW World Champion

The first man to challenge Jon Moxley has been determined after the events of the Royal Rampage taping after AEW Dynamite!

In the wake of AEW World Champion CM Punk’s announcement that he is injured, a match to crown an interim World Champion at Forbidden Door. Punk’s original opponent for the show, Hiroshi Tanahashi, faced off against Jon Moxley in the main event of the show, and in the end, Moxley was crowned the interim champion.

On the latest episode of AEW Dynamite, it was announced that the upcoming episode of Rampage would feature a Royal Rampage match to determine the first contender to Moxley’s interim title.

After the carnage of Blood and Guts was cleared, the two rings inside Little Caesar’s Arena became host to the Royal Rampage match, which saw ten men in each ring compete in a battle royal, with one man entering the match every minute. According to PWInsider, the participants were as follows:

Ring 1:

  • Frankie Kazarian
  • John Silver
  • Orange Cassidy
  • Rush
  • Hangman Page
  • Konusuke Takeshita
  • Penta Oscuro
  • Powerhouse Hobbs
  • Ricky Starks
  • Keith Lee

Ring 2:

  • Darby Allin
  • Swerve Strickland
  • Dustin Rhodes
  • The Butcher
  • The Blade
  • Tony Nese
  • Matt Hardy
  • Max Caster
  • Brody King
  • Dante Martin

In the end, the match came down to a fight between Brody King and Darby Allin. While it wasn’t clear from the announcement on Dynamite whether the final two participants would compete in a traditional match or continue to abide by battle royal rules, it seems that battle royal rules were still in effect as the House of Black member won the match by throwing Darby Allin over the top rope.

It is unclear when King and Moxley will face off for the interim AEW World Championship.