Former WWE Superstar Claims Hulk Hogan Cost Former WWE Booker His Job

Vince McMahon Hulk Hogan

WWE would be a completely different product today if it wasn’t for Hulk Hogan. The boom period caused by ‘The Hulkster’s’ rise to the top of WWE in the eighties was arguably greater than the boom of the Attitude Era, despite that era’s significance for modern fans; Hogan’s period resulted in the expansion of wrestling that allowed for the Attitude Era.

However, he may never have gotten to the top of the sports entertainment giant had it not been for George Scott, the then-WWE booker, being fired. Once the late Pat Patterson took over, it was full steam ahead for Hogan to become the face of not only WWE, but professional wrestling as a whole.

Hulk Hogan’s Complaint Led To Pat Patterson’s Hiring

Mario Mancini, a former WWE performer from the eighties who acted as the first WWE opponent for both King Kong Bundy and The Undertaker, discussed on the Cheap Heat Productions podcast how Hulk Hogan‘s complaint led to George Scott being fired and subsequently replaced by Pat Patterson:

“George Scott was the booker and George Scott loved me. I would have had quite a different career if George Scott stayed the booker and not Pat Patterson. George Scott got fired because he wanted to put the strap on Randy Savage right away. Hogan, he went and he pitched and bi*ched to Vince [McMahon], and [Vince] fired George and brought in Pat.”

Hulk Hogan won his first WWE Championship in January 1984, besting The Iron Sheik. Lasting for 1,474 days, Hogan’s reign is one of the longest in history, being one of only four reigns to last 1,000+ days. Joining him are Bruno Sammartino at 2,803 days, Pedro Morales at 1,027 days, Sammartino again at 1,237 days, and Bob Backlund at 1,470 days.

‘Macho Man’ Randy Savage, George Scott’s original choice to win the championship before Hulk Hogan complained, ultimately won the vacant WWE Championship at WrestleMania IV, besting Ted DiBiase in the finals of a night-long tournament. He was dethroned by Hulk Hogan the following year.

H/T to Sportskeeda Wrestling.