Japan News

Full Results from Day One of NJPW’s G1Climax

Okada and Ibushi pose in front of NJPW Banner

The first night of NJPW’s annual tournament the G1Climax kicked off today with the first set of 5 league matches, matches that saw renowned tough guys Minoru Suzuki and Tomohiro Ishii clash, as well as two former tournament winners, face off in the form of the days main event; Kota Ibushi vs Kazuchika Okada.

Below are the full results and updated standings following night one of the 30th G1 Climax tournament:


Non-Tournament match:

Yoja Tsuji vs Yuya Uemura:

Winner: Yuya Uemura via Submission(Boston Crab)


Tournament Matches:

Will Ospreay (0/0) vs Yujiro Takahashi (0/0):

Winner: Will Ospreay via Pinfall (Stormbreaker)


Jeff Cobb (0/0) vs Taichi (0/0):

Winner: Taichi via Pinfall (Black Mephisto)

Tomohiro Ishii (0/0) vs Minoru Suzuki (0/0):

Winner: Minoru Suzuki via Pinfall (Gotch Style Piledriver)


Shingo Takagi (0/0) vs Jay White (0/0):

Winner: Jay White via Pinfall (BladeRunner)


Kazuchika Okada (0/0) vs Kota Ibushi (0/0):

Winner: Kota Ibushi via Pinfall (Kamigoye)


For a full list of the dates and times (BST) for the key matches throughout all of this years’ G1Climax visit our article here

Full results will be posted every day throughout the G1 so make sure to check back regularly for news, results and analysis.