FTR Named Wrestling Observer Tag Team Of The Year

Dax Harwood Cash Wheeler FTR The Revival Scott Dawson Dash Wilder

After years of trying but always coming up short, the FTR duo of Dax Harwood and Cash Wheeler have finally won the Wrestling Observer’s Tag Team of the Year award.

The WON awards are voted on by readers on annual basis from December of the previous year to December of the year in question (in other words, 2022’s awards take into account the period from December 2021 to December 2022; December 2022 will be part of the 2023 WON awards).

The votes and winners tend to generate plenty of discussion and sometimes controversy. Such was the case for the 2022 awards as Dave Meltzer did something uncharacteristic by commenting on the Class B awards regarding Promoter and Booker of the Year.

On the less controversial side was the vote for Tag Team of the Year. And according to the WON’s readers and voters, no team did a better job than Dax Harwood and Cash Wheeler.

The Tag Team of the Year award is a Class A award, meaning that readers pick their top three teams and assign them points on a 5-3-2 basis.

After all the votes were tallied, FTR had a whopping 3,859 points and 782 first place votes. By comparison, the team that came in second, The Briscoes, had 1,357 points and 54 first place votes, respectively.

FTR dominate list of top tag teams of 2022

The list of top five teams of 2022, as voted on by the WON readership, is as follows:

  1. FTR: 782 first place votes, 3,589 total points
  2. Briscoes: 54 first place votes, 1,357 total points
  3. Young Bucks: 36 first place votes, 937 total points
  4. Usos: 40 first place votes, 856 total points
  5. Acclaimed: 32 first place votes, 708 total points

The following are all WON award wins and placements for FTR, going as far back as their days as “The Mechanics” and “The Revival” in WWE NXT:

  • 2022:
    • Tag Team of the Year (Winner)
    • Most Outstanding Wrestler (Dax Harwood only) [sixth place]
    • Feud of the Year (vs. The Briscoes) [Winner]
    • Match of the Year:
      • FTR vs. The Briscoes III (ROH Final Battle 2022) [Second place]
      • FTR vs. The Briscoes I (ROH Supercard of Honor 2022) [fourth place]
    • 2021:
      • Tag Team of the Year [third place]
    • 2020:
      • Tag Team of the Year [third place]
      • Match of the Year (vs. The Young Bucks on November 7th) [third place]
      • Feud of the Year (vs. The Young Bucks) [fifth place]
      • Worst Feud of the Year (vs. The Young bucks) [honorable mention]
    • 2019: Most Underrated [honorable mention]
    • 2018: Most Underrated [fifth place]
    • 2017: N/A
    • 2016: Tag Team of the Year [second place]