FMW:E Announces Woman’s Explosion Princess Tournament

FMW-E Woman's Explosion Princess Tournament Logo

The recently revived FMW:E promotion has just announced a slate of eight competitors to take part in its first-ever Woman’s Explosion Princess Tournament. The competitors are drawn from across the joshi scene with participants from Ice Ribbon, World Woman Pro-Wrestling Diana, Shinshu Girls Pro Wrestling, & Pure-J.

The first round of the tournament will begin on September 12th and will conclude in December. FMW:E have also announced that the exact rules and brackets will be announced at a later date.

The eight competitors set to take part are:

  • Suzu Suzuki
  • Risa Sera
  • Thekla
  • Miss Mongol
  • Madeline
  • Rydeen Hagane
  • Akane Fujita
  • An Chamu

The field is a mixed bag in terms of death match experience, with Miss Mongol having been a part of the original incarnation of FMW and most recently competing in a Throwing Money Bunkhouse Death Match at FMW:E’s first event. Ice Ribbon’s Suzu Suzuki & Risa Sera have taken part in their fair share of death matches too, with the former just completing a seven match trial series of death matches against some of the greats in that arena, such as Jun Kasai and Abdullah Kobayashi. The very same Abdullah Kobayashi who faced off against Onita at FMW:E’s Independence Day event.

At the other end of the spectrum, An Chamu appears to have but one hardcore match to her name, whereas Madeline doesn’t appear to have any experience in this regard

Onita had previously spoken about his interest in running an event of this kind when speaking to Tokyo Sports in May as well as his speaking highly of Suzu Suzuki. He had also expressed the same desire to run an explosion match for women when speaking to Inside The Ropes.