First Names Revealed For Upcoming SummerSlam WWE Try-outs

WWE promotes their SummerSlam Tryout for July 27-29

WWE is holding another try-out which is expected to take place right before SummerSlam weekend.

For this tryout, WWE is expecting over 50 current or recently graduated college athletes. WWE has seen great success come from former college athletes, such as Bianca Belair who has had a great run so far and is currently the Raw Women’s Champion. Another name to be noted is Brock Lesnar as he won the NCAA Division I National Championship and since joining the WWE back in 2002, he has held 10 world titles.

Some notable names who will be attending the try-outs are:

  • Lenaya Griffin who is a track and field star for Long Beach State University. She was named the Track Athlete of The Week the week of 3/8/2022 by The Big West.
  • Lea Simone Mitchell who is an alumni from the gymnastics team at Michigan State University. She received the 2021 Wayne Duke Postgraduate Award.
  • Lamonte McDougle who is a Defensive Lineman for The University of Texas at San Antonio football team. He has also played for Washington State University and West Virginia University.
  • Auburn University gymnast Derrian Gobourne is set to be in Nashville for SummerSlam weekend. Gobourne signed a NIL deal with the WWE which is a part of their “Next In Line” program.

In a recent tweet from the WWE’s Twitter page, fans will be able to attend the final day of try-outs.

More information about the event can be found on

“On Friday, July 29, for the first time ever, WWE will host a SummerSlam Tryout Viewing Experience event at the Wildhorse Saloon which gives fans a behind-the-scenes look at the WWE Tryout process. Tickets start at $20 for general admission access and go on sale on this Friday, July 15 at 1 p.m. ET via TicketMaster. VIP tickets are available for $100 and include a ring photograph with WWE Superstars and Legends.”

WWE SummerSlam is set to be headlined by the huge Last Man Standing Match between Brock Lesnar and Undisputed WWE Universal Champion Roman Reigns.