Dwayne Johnson’s XFL Set To Unveil Teams Names

Dwayne Johnson

The much-anticipated relaunch of the XFL still looks to be on track for February 2023. Now owned by a consortium headed by Dwayne Johnson and Dany Garcia, the league has previously announced the cities and venues where teams will be based.

However, with only months to go before the 2023 season kicks off, fans are still waiting to see what their local team will be called. It seems that this information will be revealed very soon.

When will team names be announced?

On October 30th, the official XFL Twitter account announced that there won’t be long to wait as they will unveil both the team names and associated logos in less than 24 hours, at 08:00 on October 31st.

“We hear some of you may be interested in what your city’s team name and logo is. Did we get that right? COMING TOMORROW, OCTOBER 31 @ 8AM ET #XFL2023”

A fresh start for the XFL

The XFL was the brainchild of Dwayne Johnson’s former boss in WWE, Vince McMahon who founded the league in 1999 saying he wanted to see football during the NFL’s off-season. Unfortunately, the first iteration would only hold one season in 2001 before low TV ratings led to it losing deals with NBC and UPN, sealing the fate of the beleaguered league.

In 2020, Vince McMahon made a second attempt to launch the XFL, this time it saw some success before, after only five weeks of play, it was forced to call off the rest of the season due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Soon after, the league suspended all operations and ultimately declared bankruptcy.

However, it was at this stage that Dwayne Johnson and Dany Garcia stepped in, leading a consortium to purchase the XFL for $15 million before it was put to auction. Since then, they have been working towards the much-anticipated resurrection of the league and Johnson has kept fans updated on its progress through social media.

Cities hosting XFL teams

  • Arlington, TX (Choctaw Stadium)
  • Houston, TX (TDECU Stadium)
  • Orlando, FL (Camping World Stadium)
  • Las Vegas, NV (to be announced)
  • San Antonio, TX (The Alamodome)
  • Seattle, WA (Lumen Field)
  • St. Louis, MO (The Dome)
  • Washington D.C. (Audi Field)