WWE News

Drew McIntyre Wins Big At 2020 WWE Slammy Awards

Drew McIntyre holding his WWE Slammy Award for Overall Superstar of the Year 2020

Drew McIntyre walked away with two trophies from the 2020 WWE Slammy Awards, including the ceremony’s top prize: The Overall Superstar of the Year Slammy!

The Slammy Awards, which returned for the first time since 2015 this year, replaced the December 23rd edition of WWE The Bump with R-Truth playing host to the event. Categories from this year’s ceremony included Return of the Year, Moment of the Year and Overall Superstar of the Year – the Slammy Awards’ top prize which was captured by Drew McIntyre.

The WWE Champion also claimed Male Superstar of the Year, giving him the rare honour of receiving multiple awards from a single edition of the ceremony. The Scottish Warrior wasn’t the only superstar to achieve this, however, as Bayley picked up both Social Media Superstar and Double Cross of the Year whilst The Undertaker claimed WWE Network Documentary, Moment and Match of the Year.

The awards were predominantly voted on by fans on social media, excluding the Male, Female and Overall Superstar of the Year awards which R-Truth claimed were voted on “by the academy”. Various legends and celebrities made appearances throughout the show to present certain awards including Shawn Michaels, Ric Flair, Snooki and Ken Jeong.

You can see all the winners for all the awards handed out at this year’s ceremony below:

  • Male Superstar of the Year: Drew McIntyre
  • Ring Gear of the Year: The New Day
  • Return of the Year: Edge
  • Most Creative 24/7 Pin: Drew Gulak (in a janitor outfit)
  • Musical Performance of the Year: Elias
  • Rivalry of the Year: Edge vs Randy Orton
  • Female Superstar of the Year: Sasha Banks
  • Breakout Star(s) of the Year: The Street Profits
  • Social Media Superstar of the Year: Bayley
  • Trash Talk of the Year: Lacey Evans & The Hurt Business
  • WWE Network Documentary of the Year: Undertaker: The Last Ride
  • Celebrity of the Year: Rob Gronkowski
  • Double Cross of the Year: Bayley Attacks Sasha Banks
  • Referee of the Year: Charles Robinson
  • Moment of the Year: The Undertaker’s Final Farewell
  • Tag Team of the Year: The Street Profits
  • Match of the Year: The Boneyard Match – WrestleMania 36
  • Overall Superstar of the Year: Drew McIntyre

Keep up-to-date with all the latest WWE news right here at Inside The Ropes.