Japan News

Combined World Tag League & Best of the Super Juniors Tour Announced

For the first time in history, New Japan Pro Wrestling’s World Tag League will tour concurrently with the Best of the Super Juniors tournament.

Having previously been cancelled back in May, the 27th edition of the junior heavyweight tournament will finally get its 2020 bow, albeit on the same circuit as New Japan’s regular tag team fixture.

The finals of both competitions will take place at the historic Nippon Budokan on Friday, December 11th.

As noted by New Japan commentator and historian Chris Charlton, this will be the first time that the BoSJ finals have taken place in the Budokan for 21 years.

In a follow up to the original announcement, New Japan confirmed how the respective tour fixtures would be laid out:

As part of our ongoing Coronavirus prevention measures, we will limit the number of wrestlers participating on the World Tag League and Best of the Super Juniors double tour.

After the opening event of the tour will see both tournaments kick off on Sunday November 15, the World Tag League and Best of the Super Jr. participants will alternate on each night through the series until the final league matches in Fukuoka on Sunday December 6, and the tournament finals on December 11 in Nippon Budokan.

The full schedule for the dual tournament tour is as follows:

Sunday November 15, Dolphins Arena, Aichi – World Tag League 2020, Best of the Super Jr. 27 opening night (Participants in both tournaments will be involved)

Monday November 16, Gikyou Arena, Ishikawa – World Tag League 2020 participants only

Wednesday November 18, Korakuen Hall – Best of the Super Jr. 27 participants only

Thursday November 19, Korakuen Hall – World Tag League 2020 participants only

Friday, November 20, Korakuen Hall – Best of the Super Jr. 27 participants only

Sunday November 22, Nagano – World Tag League 2020 participants only

Monday November 23, G Messe Gunma – Best of the Super Jr. 27 participants only

Tuesday November 24 Big Palette Fukushima – World Tag League 2020 participants only

Wednesday November 25 Niigata Convention Center – Best of the Super Jr. 27 participants only

Saturday November 28, Fujisawa – World Tag League 2020 participants only

Sunday November 29, Korakuen Hall – Best of the Super Jr. 27 participants only

Monday November 30, Korakuen Hall – World Tag League 2020 participants only

Wednesday December 2, Maruzen Intek Arena Osaka – Best of the Super Jr. 27 participants only

Friday December 4, Beppu B-Con Plaza – World Tag League 2020 participants only

Saturday December 5, Sun Arena Sendai – Best of the Super Jr. 27 participants only

Sunday December 6, Fukuoka International Center – World Tag League 2020, Best of the Super Jr. 27 final league night (Participants in both tournaments will be involved)

Friday December 11, Nippon Budokan – World Tag League 2020, Best of the Super Jr. 27 final (Participants in both tournaments will be involved)