CM Punk Victorious In Return Match On AEW Collision

CM Punk with FTR on AEW Collision

The first ever episode of AEW Collision featured several stars making their returns, but it was all about the comeback of CM Punk.

The controversial star opened the show in typical style as he cut a promo that was laden with insults targeted at the Elite.

But not only did the inaugural show host the return of Punk, but it was headlined by his first match in nine months. The former World Champion teamed with the World Tag Team Champions FTR against the ROH Television Champion Samoa Joe and Bullet Club Gold.

The match began with thunderous “CMFTR” chants and fast-paced action. At one point in the intense outing, Joe and Punk stood face-to-face in the ring for the first time since 2004 which sent the crowd into a frenzy. As they chanted “Holy Sh*t” Punk and Joe hit each other with heavy strikes, in fact, all six men did throughout the fierce competition.

CM Punk Delivered His First GTS In Nine Months On AEW Collision

After twenty five minutes of strong back-and-forth fighting, the trio of Punk and FTR managed to single out Juice Robinson. To close out the match, the tag team champs hit Robinson with the Shatter Machine before Punk nailed him with the Go To Sleep for the win.

CMFTR stood in the ring with their hands held high in victory as the eventful inaugural episode of Collision went off the air.

The historic show also featured the TNT Championship change hands, the return of Andrade and Miro, plus Willow Nightengale and Skye Blue defeated the Outcasts – Toni Storm and Ruby Soho.

Throughout the brand new show matches for the June 21st episode of Dynamite were advertised and are as follows:

  • Mark Briscoe vs. Jeff Jarrett – Concession Stand Brawl Match
  • Kris Statlander (c) vs. Taya Valkyrie – TBS Championship
  • The Hardys vs. The Gunns
  • Katsuyori Shibata and Orange Cassidy vs. Daniel Garcia and Zack Sabre Jr.
  • Chris Jericho, Minoru Suzuki and Sammy Guevara vs. Action Andretti, AR Fox and Darius Martin