WWE News

Big Damo Discusses His Main Roster Call-Up Being Delayed

SAnitY Eric Young Alexander Wolfe Big Damo

Recent AEW debutee Big Damo has discussed the delay in bringing SAnitY to the main roster in 2018, citing time constraints as the reason why.

When SAnitY was confirmed to be joining the SmackDown roster during WWE’s 2018 Superstar Shakeup, fan excitement was high. The trio of Eric Young, Alexander Wolfe, and Killian Dain had dominated the NXT tag team division, so a change in scenery did them well.

Ultimately, the group would debut on the blue brand’s 19 June broadcast, some nine weeks after they were first planned to be joining the SmackDown roster. The group beat down The Usos on their first night, before embarking on a short-term feud with The New Day.

Big Damo has now commented on the group’s main roster call-up while speaking to the Two Man Power Trip of Wrestling podcast. ‘The Beast of Belfast’ confirmed they were scheduled to debut two weeks before they actually did (h/t Sportskeeda Wrestling):

“The week before that, we were meant to debut at the very end of the main event. It had spilled into nonsense. It was The Miz and somebody against New Day and we were meant to appear on-screen, top of the ramp, to close out SmackDown, but they overran so it never happened.”

Formed in October 2016 and initially consisting of Eric Young, Alexander Wolfe, Sawyer Fulton, and Nikki Cross, the group would see Fulton replaced by Big Damo when he suffered an injury, and Cross left behind in NXT. They disbanded in April 2019 when Young was drafted to Raw and Wolfe joined the NXT UK roster.

Big Damo spent the latter portion of his WWE career wrestling on the NXT brand. Released on 25 June 2021, ‘The Hound of Ulster’ has since enjoyed newfound success on the North American independent circuit, alongside a handful of dates back in the United Kingdom.

The former Damian O’Connor would debut for All Elite Wrestling on the 20 May broadcast of Rampage, as he lost to Shawn Spears while ‘The Chairman’ prepared to face Wardlow.