Japan News

All Japan Announce Champion Carnival Participants

All Japan Pro Wrestling have announced the field for their 2021 Champion Carnival tournament.

Having won the tournament last year, Zeus is set to return once again, as is current Triple Crown Champion Suwama and company standout Kento Miyahara.

Full list of participants below:

  • Jake Lee
  • Kento Miyahara
  • Kohei Sato
  • Koji Doi
  • Shinjiro Otani
  • Shotaro Ashino
  • Shuji Ishikawa
  • Suwama
  • Yuma Aoyagi
  • Zeus

The tournament is set to take place over ten dates, with the finals due to take place on May 3rd at Korakuen Hall.

Suwama has held the Triple Crown Heavyweight Championship for over 300 days at this point and will look to enter his second consecutive tournament as champion.

He will however have to overcome the challenge of Yoshitatsu prior to entering, as the former WWE star has issued a challenge for the March 21st show in Kyoto.

Elsewhere, it’s perhaps interesting to note that while last year’s winner Zeus remains one half of the All Asia Tag Team Champions, his fellow 2020 finalist Kento Miyahara has since joined him in the tag team ranks and is currently one half of the AJPW World Tag Team Champions.

Previous winners of the illustrious tournament include the likes of current GHC Heavyweight Champion Keiji Mutoh, current K-OD Openweight Champion Jun Akiyama, Minoru Suzuki, Kenta Kobashi and former WWF star Vader.