AEW News

AEW TBS Women’s Title Tournament Bracket Revealed

Penelope Ford vs Ruby Soho AEW

AEW has announced the competitors and the matches for the TBS Women’s Championship Tournament.

The 12-woman tournament kicks off on the October 23rd edition of Dynamite when Ruby Soho takes on Penelope Ford.

The other matches include Anna Jay vs Jamie Hayter, The Bunny vs Red Velvet and Serena Deeb vs former Women’s World Champion Hikaru Shida.

Four of the five top-ranking wrestlers Thunder Rosa, Jade Cargill, Nyla Rose, and Kris Statlander receive byes from the first round.

The brand new women’s title was unveiled on the October 6th episode of Dynamite. To coincide with the show moving to the TBS channel on January 5 2022 the promotion created the TBS Championship.

Legendary wrestling commentator Tony Schiavone and referee Aubrey Edwards unveiled the TBS Championship in a segment in the ring.

Similar to the TNT Championship the title will act as a mid-card belt for AEW’s growing and evolving women’s division.

Speaking on Busted Open Radio, AEW President Tony Khan talked very highly of the upcoming tournament:

I’m really excited about the field. I think when people see it, it really shows the depth we’ve built in the AEW Women’s Division, just in the past two years. The TBS Title tournament is going to be great.