AEW News

AEW Star Announced For NJPW G1 Climax 32

AEW and NJPW logos

NJPW has announced a mammoth 28-man field for this year’s G1 Climax 32 tournament, including one of the stars of AEW.

The G1 Climax tournament is one of the biggest events in the pro wrestling calendar and this year it’s bigger than ever before.

During Dominion, NJPW announced that this year the field would be expanded from the usual 20 participants to a huge 28 men across four blocks instead of the normal two.

As well as featuring New Japan mainstays like IWGP World Heavyweight Champion Kazuchika Okada, Tomohiro Ishii, and Tetsuya Naito, the Forbidden Door is set to remain open long into the summer with AEW’s Lance Archer being added to the field.

The 2020 Men’s Casino Battle Royale winner is no stranger to NJPW having wrestled for the promotion as part of the Suzuki-gun faction for several years before joining AEW. During his time there, he captured Tag Team gold on three occasions alongside Davey Boy Smith Jr. as well as becoming the IWGP United States Champion twice.

The G1 Climax will take place from July 16th to August 18th and is a round-robin singles tournament. Two points are earned for every victory, one point is earned for a draw, and zero points are awarded for a loss.

The 28 men will compete in four blocks of seven. The top point scorer in each block will then advance to semi-finals on August 17, before the finals on August 18. The winner will earn an IWGP World Heavyweight Championship match at Wrestle Kingdom 17 in January 2023.

Should the current IWGP World Heavyweight Champion, Kazuchika Okada, win the tournament then he will earn the right to choose his opponent at New Japan’s biggest show of the year.

Full list of G1 Climax 32 entrants

  • Kazuchika Okada
  • Tama Tonga
  • Hiroshi Tanahashi
  • Tom Lawlor
  • Jonah
  • Hirooki Goto
  • Toru Yano
  • Tomohiro Ishii
  • Jeff Cobb
  • Great O-Khan
  • Will Ospreay
  • Aaron Henare
  • Shingo Takagi
  • Tetsuya Naito
  • Jay White
  • EVIL
  • Yujiro Takahashi
  • Bad Luck Fale
  • Chase Owens
  • Juice Robinson
  • Taichi
  • Zack Sabre Jr.
  • Lance Archer
  • David Finlay
  • El Phantasmo