AEW Announce First LJN Action Figures Since 1989

Cody Rhodes AEW LJN

AEW has announced the return of the hallowed LJN action figures with the first one in the series available for pre-order, and you already know who it’s of.

The first-ever TNT Champion and AEW EVP Cody Rhodes is the first LJN figure produced by Jazwares marking a return to the line that was last seen in 1989.

The LJN Cody Rhodes figure is part of the first series of the new AEW Unmatched collection produced by the company. The series contains six figures including Dustin Rhodes, Miro, Darby Allin, Kenny Omega, and the hotly anticipated first AEW action figure of AEW Women’s Champion Dr. Britt Baker DMD.

LJN was a toy company and video game producer based in the US that was founded in 1970. The company produced the first line of World Wrestling Federation action figures with the line of figures known as Wrestling Superstars.

Figures produced in the original LJN line include many WWE Hall Of Famers with six full series being produced along with reissues and tag team box sets. The first series of the line included figures of AndrĂ© The Giant, Big John Studd, Hillbilly Jim, Hulk Hogan, The Iron Sheik, Jimmy Snuka, Junkyard Dog, Nikolai Volkoff, and ‘Rowdy’ Roddy Piper.

The Wrestling Superstars line ended in 1989 when LJN closed the toy production division of the company, bringing an end to what many see as the golden age of wrestling action figures.

This new line of AEW action figures joins the AEW Unrivaled collection which is already onto its sixth series. The first and fourth series include figures of Cody Rhodes with Rhodes also available as a Ringside Collectibles exclusive as TNT Champion, and as part of a Blood Brothers set with Dustin Rhodes, paying tribute to their bloodbath at Double Or Nothing 2019.