2022 NJPW G1 Blocks Announced

NJPW G1 Climax 32 Logo

The blocks have been announced for 2022’s G1 Climax tournament in New Japan Pro Wrestling as the competition returns to 4 blocks for the first time since 2000.

The stars of New Japan Pro Wrestling may have their sights set on walking through the Forbidden Door with AEW in Chicago on June 26th but that will merely mark the beginning of their summer as the G1 Climax tournament returns to its traditional months of July and August.

A Block will see Kazuchika Okada, ‘Filthy’ Tom Lawlor, Jeff Cobb, Bad Luck Fale, Toru Yano, Jonah, and AEW’s Lance Archer lock horns.

Block B will feature Taichi, Tama Tonga, Tomohiro Ishii, Sanada, Great-O-Khan, Chase Owens, and IWGP World Heavyweight Champion Jay White lock horns.

New Japan’s Ace and the man who could be Interim AEW World Champion Hiroshi Tanahashi will be in C Block alongside KENTA, Zack Sabre Jr., Hirooki Goto, Aaron Henare, EVIL, and LIJ’s Tetsuya Naito.

United Empire’s Will Ospreay, Yujiro Takahashi, Shingo Takagi, Juice Robinson, Yoshi-Hashi, David Finlay, and El Phantasmo complete the line-up in what is sure to be a very competitive Block D.

The 48th showing of the G1 Climax tournament begins on the 16th of July and will conclude on August 18th when the winner of the tournament will be crowned.