WWE Crown Jewel

WWE Crown Jewel

WWE Crown Jewel was established in 2018 and has become a permanent fixture on the WWE Premium Live Event calendar. The event was created as part of the 10-year agreement between WWE and the kingdom of Saudi Arabia, tying in with their Saudi Vision 2030 initiative.

To date there have been three Crown Jewel events, with shows in 2018, 2019 and 2021. There was no event in 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

WWE Crown Jewel 2022 Results

  • Brock Lesnar def Bobby Lashley
  • Damage CTRL def Asuka & Alexa Bliss NEW Women’s Tag Team Champions
  • Drew McIntyre def Karrion Kross
  • Judgment Day def AJ Styles, Karl Anderson, Luke Gallows
  • Braun Strowman def Omos
  • The Usos (c) def The Brawling Brutes
  • Bianca Belair (c) def Bayley
  • Roman Reigns (c) def Logan Paul

When Is WWE Crown Jewel?

Crown Jewel 2022 took place on November 5th.

Where Is The Next WWE Crown Jewel?

Crown Jewel 2022 was held at Mrsool Park, Riyadh, Saudi Arabia.

How Can I Watch WWE Crown Jewel?

United States: Crown Jewel aired live live on the Peacock Network.

United Kingdom & Rest of World: The show aired on the WWE Network.

WWE Crown Jewel History

From the very first WWE Crown Jewel event in 2018, the shows have been all about star power. This means that every event has been packed with wrestling megastars from not only today, but WWE Superstars of the past.

Crown Jewel 2018 was hosted by Hulk Hogan in what was his first WWE appearance in three years. The star’s contract with the company had been terminated in July 2015 after it emerged that he had made racist remarks on an explicit tape back in 2007.

In the main event, Shawn Michaels teamed with Triple H to take on the Brothers of Destruction, otherwise known as Kane and The Undertaker. The bout was especially notable as it was the first time that Michaels had wrestled since being defeated by The Undertaker and sent into retirement at WrestleMania XXVI. It was also the first time Kane and The Undertaker had teamed together since Survivor Series 2015.

The 2019 event again saw an appearance from Hulk Hogan, and this time he was also joined by Ric Flair. The two men pitting teams against each other in a huge ten-man tag team match. Elsewhere on the show, Cain Velasquez made his in-ring WWE debut in defeat to Brock Lesnar. The two men had previously fought in UFC where Velasquez beat Lesnar to claim the Heavyweight Championship.

The event also featured what is still to date, Tyson Fury’s only in-ring WWE appearance. The bout in question saw the heavyweight boxing star overcome Braun Strowman via count out.

Crown Jewel 2019 also made history. Natalya and Lacey Evans competed in the first women’s match to ever take place in Saudi Arabia. The two women wrestled in full bodysuits and in WWE branded t-shirts, while they embraced in the ring after the match.

Aside from the action in the ring the show is also somewhat infamous for an incident which left hundreds of WWE wrestlers and company figures unable to leave the country. More than 200 WWE personnel were left stranded on an aeroplane for several hours with the delay credited to a mechanical fault. However, the less than clear situation led to a number of conspiracy theories, including claims that then-WWE Chairman Vince McMahon was involved in a dispute over pay.

It has since been reported that those involved were “held hostage.”

After missing 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic, Crown Jewel returned in 2021. This show also featured two more notable firsts, as Jessika Carr became the first woman to referee a match in Saudi Arabia, as well as the first woman to officiate a Hell in a Cell match. It was later revealed that Edge had specifically asked for Carr to be involved in the match between himself and Seth Rollins.

This instalment of the event also featured the crowning of a new King of the Ring, and for the first time a Queen’s Crown winner. The finals of both tournaments were held on the show and were won by Xavier Woods and Zelina Vega respectively.

WWE Crown Jewel Main Events

EventDateLocationMain Event
Crown Jewel 20182/11/2018Riyadh, Saudi ArabiaD-X vs. The Brothers of Destruction.
Crown Jewel 201931/10/2019Riyadh, Saudi Arabia‘The Fiend’ Bray Wyatt vs. Seth Rollins
Crown Jewel 202121/10/2021Riyadh, Saudi ArabiaRoman Reigns vs. Brock Lesnar

WWE Crown Jewel Records

RecordRecord Holder
Biggest AttendanceCrown Jewel 2018 – 70,000
Most MatchesDolph Ziggler, Seth Rollins, Bobby Lashley, Brock Lesnar, AJ Styles (4)
Most WinsRoman Reigns, Brock Lesnar, (3)
Most LossesBobby Lashley (4)

WWE Crown Jewel Latest News